As Episode 2 proved, I am not particularly a big fan of the Tokyo Ghoul:re anime adaptation… which I have decided to make myself suffer even more with an analysis and review of the 2nd Season. However, in this episode, I will make a greater attempt to pick up on the parts that I liked in regards to narrative and music.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is gitm-podcast-cover.png

For this week’s episode of Get In The Mecha, I will be focusing on:

  • My criticisms of the structure / portrayals within the show
  • Where I thought the show wasn’t so bad
  • What Tokyo Ghoul:re 2nd Season does to conclude the entire franchise.

THERE ARE SPOILERS IN THIS PODCAST EPISODE

MUSIC IN THIS PRODUCTION:

ChipScape by chasersgaming

Difference by chasersgaming

Go Lucky by chasersgaming

Mandatory Overtime by Joth

“Anomaly”
by Eric Matyas
www.soundimage.org

SOURCES REFERENCED IN THIS PRODUCTION:

TK – KATHARSIS (APPLE MUSIC)

HALF – QUEEN BEE (APPLE MUSIC)

ÖSTERREICH – RAKUEN NO KIMI (APPLE MUSIC)

MYANIMELIST PAGE (TOKYO GHOUL:RE 2ND SEASON)

SHOW NOTES

Note from Jamal: Hey All! Thanks for reading the show notes. Just another week of Get In The Mecha; the show has been growing faster than I expected; thanks for all your support every week! Besides that, just enjoy the show!

Plot Summary: The urban war between the Ghouls and CCG is near the endgame (finally)! Uh, that’s it.

The Evident Flaw(s): As I already spent an entire episode a few months back, I will keep my large list of criticisms to a minimum. My overall argument is that there is simply too much going on, in terms of the of cross cutting there is between the different antagonisms (such as Kaneki vs. Furuta). As a result, I felt a lot of confusion when watching the show episode by episode. This is also made worse by the amount of episodes; 12 episodes is not particularly helpful for a series of this nature.

The Good Bits: Despite the fact that Tokyo Ghoul:re was a large upset, that is not to say that it went without merit. OP 4, ‘Katharsis’ by TK is an amazing way to send off the show, mostly because it sounds conclusive and abrupt. In addition, I feel as if Tokyo Ghoul:re as a whole was still able to make the show relatively ‘Kaneki-centric’ and end the show in a nice, wholesome way (if we’re to forget about the messy journey it was getting there).

I thought that it would be better that I kept this review here in the show notes short and sweet as it would just become a list of every little thing I disliked about the show. On the whole, the Tokyo Ghoul franchise was one heck of a ride and now that we’ve reached the end, I feel almost nostalgic now that it is all over. It definitely did not end in the classiest way possible, but it was an experience nonetheless.

Leave a comment